Eggtastic Sandwiches

So I have a grown up job.  I work 8-5 every weekday and wake up earlier than I had to in high school. 

Every-single-morning I dragged myself out of bed in high school, I promised myself I would be rich enough to never have to wake up before my own mind and body wanted me to wake up.

But I’m not rich.  And I wake up to an alarm Monday-Friday after pressing snooze at least 5 times.   That’s an extra 45 minutes I rather spend half asleep, getting jolted awake by an alarm and searching for my phone that inevitably gets lost in the covers every 9 minutes per snooze then to get my butt out of bed in the morning.

Clearly, I am not a morning person.  However, I have found a little piece of sandwichy goodness that makes waking up a little easier.  A homemade prosciutto and egg sandwich that just needs to be reheated in the morning.  I was sent this simple but fantastic (hence the eggtastic) recipe by a friend of mine at my new grown up job.  Thanks Ashley for the tip and thanks to Macheesmo for this great recipe.

Eggtastic Sandwiches 

  • Eggs
  • Shredded cheese
  • Prosciutto broken into bite size pieces
  • English Muffins

Grab a muffin tin and spray with cooking spray.  Then crack an egg in each muffin area.  This method cooks the eggs into the perfect sandwich shape.

Place the tray in a 350 degree oven for about 15-20 minutes.  While waiting for the eggs to cook, slice the muffins.  Place the muffins on a cookie sheet and put into the oven to toast.  You can toast the muffins while cooking the eggs.  Multitask my friends!!

Arrange the egg, cheese and prosciutto on the bread and.. well.. you’re done! 

Stick the sandwiches in the freezer for an hour uncovered.  This trick allows all the moisture to evaporate and creates a less soggy product.  After an hour, wrap each one in aluminum foil and put them all into a bag.  This bag o’eggs is about to be your morning glory for the next week or so.  Once you’re ready to grab one of these puppies to defrost in the morning, just heat them up in an oven for about 20 minutes on 250 degrees with the foil on.  The cheese melts and the egg gets all toasty warm.  The original recipe did not have any meat on the sandwich, but Lover Boy and I need pork in almost every meal possible so we added the prosciutto.  Even though it dried out in the freezing process, once you warm the sandwich up, the salty addition is bliss. 

These have become a life saver.

Pin This Recipe!

Leave a Reply

